Caribbean STAY

About Caribbean

The Caribbean is a region that consists of the Caribbean Sea, its islands (some surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and some bordering both the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean), and the surrounding coasts. The region is southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America.

Situated largely on the Caribbean Plate, the region comprises more than 700 islands, islets, reefs, and cays.

The Caribbean islands, consisting of the Greater Antilles on the north and the Lesser Antilles on the south and east (including the Leeward Antilles), are part of the somewhat larger West Indies grouping, which also includes the Lucayan Archipelago (comprising The Bahamas and Turks and Caicos Islands) north of the Greater Antilles and Caribbean Sea. In a wider sense, the mainland countries of Belize, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana are also included.

The history of the Caribbean is rich with adventurous tales, blended cultures, and natural diversity. The region played a significant role in the colonial struggles of the European powers since the 15th century. The Spanish were the first to settle in the Caribbean in 1493 and were quickly followed by the Portuguese, the English, the French and the Dutch, with smaller roles for Norway, Denmark and Sweden. The impact of colonialism and slavery can still be seen in many of the island cultures today; so much so, in fact, that travelers often note a sense of living with the near-tangible history that permeates the region.

Create Account

Log In Your Account